• Our History

  • Charlie Marshall Funeral Homes Staff

    Charlie Marshall came to south Texas as a young, dedicated and enthusiastic Funeral Director who knew what and where he wanted to be.  He has been sole owner and operator of Charlie Marshall Funeral Homes and Crematory since 1949.  With over 65 years of experience in the funeral industry, he spent his entire life helping people.

    On January 10, 2014 Charlie Marshall past away.  His daughter, Marty Sue Marshall who worked by his side for many years is continuing his legacy by taking care of South Texas families in their time of need.

    With two state-of-the-art facilities in Aransas Pass and Rockport, Charlie Marshall Funeral Homes and Crematory serves approximately 500 families a year.   You can be assured that your family members' final memories will be beautiful and lasting.

    Welcome to our family!


    Memorial to Charlie Marshall

    Charlie Marshall had the ability to inspire people to not only do their best but to strive for better and he applied that ability to each and every endeavor he undertook. He had served on the Trustee’s Board of his local school district for over 52 years and inspire the children in his community to achieve and excel. He served on the State Board of Morticians longer than any other Texas Director, having served under four different governors, Price Daniels, John Connelly, Preston Smith and Dolph Briscoe. He received his 50 year pin from the Texas Funeral Directors Association in 1999. Mr. Marshall was honored on April 1, 2004 by the House of Representatives and his life record was entered into the Congressional Hall of Fame. A community leader who is highly respected and trusted, a successful business man with a proven tract record, and a devoted and knowledgeable funeral director who serves all people with the greatest of respect and dignity.

    View Charlie Marshall's Congressional Record

    Charlie Marshall, owner and operator of Charlie Marshall Funeral Homes & Crematory Inc in Aransas Pass and Rockport since 1949 and developer of land subdivisions in nine (9) Texas counties was the sole owner and President of the Board of Directors for the firm.

    • Member of the Aransas Pass Independent School Board of Trustees for over fifty two (52) years.
    • Past President of the Texas Funeral Service Commission; serving under four (4) different Governors during their terms: Price Daniels, John Connelly, Preston Smith and Dolph Briscoe.
    • July 7, 2013 was proclaimed "Charlie Marshall Day" in both Aransas and San Patricio County. Click to read full article.
    • Received 50-Year Service Recognition from Texas Funeral Directors Association in 1999.
    • Founding member of Aransas Pass Associated Charities in 1952 and served as President for over thirty (30) years.
    • Served on Board of Directors of the Trustee of Overbid Property Trust, which built the Aransas Pass Public Library.
    • Member and Board of Directors for the Aransas Pass Memorial Tower Committee.
    • Past President of the Aransas Pass Chamber of Commerce.
    • Received Aransas Pass Citizen of the Year Award in 1972.
    • Received Murl Smith Award in 1981.
    • Received Veterans of Foreign Wars Good Citizenship Award in 1965.
    • Received Certificate of Honor from the Oddfellow and Rebekah lodge of Aransas pass in 1980.
    • Received Certificate of Merit & Recognition for thirty (30) years of service from the Aransas Pass High School Alumni Association.
    • Former member of San Patricio county Public Affairs Committee.
    • Former Board of Directors of San Patricio County TB Committee and San Patricio County Red Cross.
    • Former Board of Directors of the San Patricio County Juvenile Committee.
    • Served on the Board of Directors for Prairie View Cemetery Association since 1960.
    • Former Board of Directors of Live Oak Country Club.
    • Life member of Ingleside Veterans of Foreign Wars.
    • Member of Aransas Pass Masonic Lodge #1018 since 1949.
    • Served on the original Aransas pass City Charter Committee.
    • Received award for thirty (30) years of service from Aransas County EMS Services, Inc.
    • Honorary Citizen of Ft. Worth in 1967.
    • First United Methodist Church Building Committee in 1959.
    • Past President of 20-30 Club of Aransas Pass.
    • Board of Directors for Aim Hospice.
    • Charlie Marshall Elementary School named in his honor in 1997.
    • Award given by the Aransas Pass High School Panther Band for outstanding support and generous contributions.
    • Received award from the Rockport American G.I. Forum #324 in appreciation for outstanding contributions to veterans for over 49 years.
    • Received the Joe B. Brown Memorial Award presented by the Texas Ambulance Association for humanitarian contributions to his community.
    • Received award from the Texas Funeral Directors Association for 60 years of sercive to his community through funeral directing.
    • Letters of Recognition and Appreciation from :
      Texas Speaker of the House of Representatives, Pete Laney
      Dean of Texas Senate, Carlos Truan
      President George Bush
      Texas House of Representatives Judy Hawley
      Governor George W. Bush
      U.S. Senator Phil Gramm
      U.S. Congressman Ruben Hinojosa
      Texas Lt. Governor Bob Bullock
      Texas House of Representatives Gene Seaman
      U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchinson
      Governor Rick Perry
      Texas Lt. Governor Ben Barnes
      Texas Lt. Governor Preston Smith
      Governor John Connelly
      Commanding Officer of U.S.S. Inchon, R.K. Gallagher, U.S. Navy
      Aransas County Judge Glen Guillary
      Aransas County Judge Agnes Hardin
      Home Port Lulac # 4723
      Rockport American G.I. Forum
      Aransas Pass Lions Club
      San Antonio Cemetery Association